D.I.A.

Drink-induced amnesia is a fuckin problem. Every alco has been thru this experience. Also known as blackout, as opposed to d slightly milder but no less confusing brownout, which i wrote about here. (In science terms, DIA is “en bloc blackout” vs “fragmentary blackout” (brownout).)

DIA (not to be confused with but possibly related to d hospital term DOA – dead on arrival), happens with very quick, or excessive consumption of alcohol. Or both.

Liquor mostly. I doubt it works with beer, unless u do helluva lot.

Goes down too easy

U forget stuff dat happened. Like ordering more drinks, then only realizing d next day –  coz yor pockets are outta cash.

Or d last bar u were at. Or driving home. Or even sex! (Similar to cock amnesia.)

I once crossed busy Jln Ampang to get to another party n dont remember that, and d next two hours. Haha

Daaamn.

Unfortunately some people cant behave appropriately when under DIA, and wont even remember it.

Dont remember

Its actually pretty amazing. At the time when ur under DIA, ur generally a perfectly-functioning human, able to do whatever your brain normally does, from the mundane and basic to the complicated, like pissing, havin conversations, calculating cash, driving, eating. But d next day, it’s like it never happened! Was your brain off?

Its like sleep-walking. Kinda weird. I used to sleep-walk too.

I guess over-drinking affects d brain cells dat control short-term memory. It sucks coz many times, u REALLY had a great time, but its been fuckin erased from your memory forever. I think besides a hangover, this is what i hate most about booze.

U gotta rely on eye-witness reports to fill u in. That dont always work either, coz if u dont remember what u dont remember, u wouldnt even ask. So sometimes u’ll NEVER know dat u had DIA.

D other way to jog your memory a lil are photos of d scenes.

Don't remember

Some research done indicates that “These periods of amnesia are primarily “anterograde,” meaning that alcohol impairs the ability to form new memories while the person is intoxicated, but does not typically erase memories formed before intoxication.”

Praise the lord! So its just ‘temporary brain damage’. Cool.

However the prick also concluded that “occurrence of blackouts is a powerful indicator of alcoholism.” Yea right.

There’s also DIA-within-DIA. Besides not remembering d next day, u dont remember during the piss-up what u said like three fuckin minutes ago. Like “where do u live?!”. Askin d same goddam question five times in a night. Dats cause its been documented that your memory in such situations lasts two minutes.

Wow. Fish brain.

Don't remember

This part of the report about ‘state-dependent memory’ is cool – “It is not uncommon to hear stories of drinkers who stash alcohol or money while intoxicated, and locate the hiding places only after becoming intoxicated again.” Haha!

Basically DIA stems from an inability to transfer information from short-term to long-term storage. Your neurons are in a twist. D report notes “a key predictor of blackouts is the rate at which subjects consumed their drinks.” So it happens more to fast drinkers.

I say watch those shots. More than one a minute and ur askin for DIA. One every 90 seconds should be fine.

Share

Pawty @ Sid’s in da Hills

Bring your Sunday thirst to Sid’s Kenny Hills for The Pawty @ Sid’s on Sunday.

Chilinnn..

Sid’s Pub & SPCA Selangor will be having a fund-raising piss-up to raise dough for the building of a new SPCA Selangor Animal Shelter.

Am not a fan of our SPCA, but hopefully the animals will benefit, coz Sid’s is being extremely generous – 50% of what u spend on – whether its booze of food – will be donated to the SPCA. It’s 50% of purchases, as opposed to the usual 50% of net proceeds / profits. So if u spend $100, $50 is donated. No catch.

There’ll be Tiger & Guinness draft at $10/glass and yummy burgers & hot dogs from Rawlins Traditional Butchers at 10 bucks a pop. There’ll also be several animals for adoption.

Happens from 1pm to 5pm.

If u dig afternoon parties in a chilled park-like setting, hit it.

Share

All-you-can-drink beer & stout

S’Mores Bar & Restaurant at The Sphere (Bangsar South) is havin a World Cup all-you-can-drink deal.

It’s $80 nett for Tiger and $100 for Guinness. From 7pm to 12am!

S’mores has also gone non-halal recently, with pork steaks, porky chops, pork burger, mixed sausage platter and many more.

Call for details & reservations – 2240-0069.

Don’t die.

Share

$pending on food vs drinks

I sometimes come across some blogs of friends like KY & Sue Lynn & others, and they always be pigging out at some new restaurant. It soon got me thinking, “Fuckin hell, these guys check out aallll the restaurants! And order aallll da shit. How the heck do they afford it?”

KY the eating freak (pix stolen from his blog)

There’re restaurants real near where i live that these people have scoped and gang-raped multiple times, and i havent even been to them or heard of ’em! Real restaurant junkies.

I dont do such things. It would cost too much, but mainly coz food aint  a priority to me. I guess i got other priorities.

Its also a question of what in economics  is known as ‘opportunity cost’.

I normally wouldnt spend more than 10 bucks on a meal, but would probably spend 10 or 20 times more on a drink. So its normally with reluctance i would join some girlie ‘dinner with friends’ shit at some over-priced dump. Usually no choice coz its a birthday. (There’re quite a few people who feel d same but wont say it. Haha. Obligations.)

I eat out several times a day. So i spend more than enough on food as it is. And food dont contain alcohol, so whats the benefit of blowing 50 or 100 bucks on it? The same amount spent on booze, gets me high. But food is just shat out.

In fact, on certain lazy days, i feel like eating is a goddam chore.

Sue Lynn, who also drinks. A bit of a beerhead this one (pix from her blog)

Anyway, if seen over a month, i think i blow as much on booze as on all dat dam food, if not more. Not sure if its normal. I think its quite common.

But i think some of these people probably spend up to a grand a month on food, checkin out d new joints, or revisiting ol joints. Similarly, some guys would drink up to a grand or more of drinks.

Food is great n all, but it aint an obssession with me. I’m a moderate who always believes in moderation. Seriously!

Well, everybody got their vices. Theirs be food, mine be booze, among others.

Eating – that thing that occurs between drinking. Haha. Sumtin to add to my booze glossary.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Share